top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturedagbjort91

Q&A - second session!

Hi folks! I decided, since it's a gloomy day, and I'm fighting a cold to scribble up another session of Q&A here. This time I'll cover two short(ish) answer questions:


1 . Do you use any strategies for reading at home vs reading signs and environmental print when you’re out?


Well, I've always read a whole lot of stuff, ever since I learned to. You could hardly see me anywhere without a book on my lap. As you know, most of my life I didn't know about having CVI so I didn't pay much attention on how I held the book or the size of the letters or whatever can impact your reading. It wasn't until I got fully aware of my CVI ( and optic nerve athrophy) that I started kinda analyzing what I was doing. So, I found out that I have to read books with fairly big font 12- 14 pt. at least I'd think - and have the pages clean - I hate reading books where someone has drawn in or written in - school books included - haha! As far as reading signs, fortunately the font is almost always big enough. For me to read it (expecially from far away) the sign has to be in a bright color - though not neon bright, that makes me flinch ;) For example yellow or orange or green. I also mostly have no problem reading lighted up signs.

2. How do you orient or navigate when you are in an unfamiliar environment? Do you rely on your (new) O&M skills at first, do you find landmarks that are similar to things you know?


Ooofh... hard question! Since I have so newly started getting O&M lessons I haven't had lot of time practicing them in real life. So, mostly I have just relied on some landmarks that are similar to what I know, or asked people to guide me. Mostly though I've just stayed with people I know and followed them around. If I'm alone, I just follow a group of strangers and see where I end up going ;) This has often given me attacks of anxiety or even panic, although it's all getting a bit better now.I just had to learn to ask for help, even if I wasn't familiar with the people. It was hard, but worth it.


So keep on writing me with some questions people, I promise I'll cover them here at some point :)

See you next time!

Cough and sniff ( cold, go awaaay!!) heheh


Dagbjört

162 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My story & how I got diagnosed - positives and negatives

Hello folks! This post is going to be both easy and hard to write as I'll talk about my story- both the good, bad, and the ugly - not in the microdetails of course :) So, some of you might not know m

bottom of page