top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturedagbjort91

,,Can you go get some milk? "- A typical CVI moment

Yup, I know this title doesn't sound really catchy, but it describes one of the many CVI moments I have each day. This example occours when I open the fridge and start looking for something. I have often experienced that someone asks me to go to the fridge and find some milk/cheese/veggies/ whatever, and I stand there with the fridge wide open for several minutes before finding what I'm looking for. Even though it's a bit cluttered it is lighted up so under normal circumstances it should be fairly easy to find things. Then after a while I sometimes have to start feeling around the fridge with my fingers to hopefully spot the target. Last ditch effort for me is to ask someone to look with me ( if somebody is at home other than me) That is where I often realize that the target ( as told by the other person) was right in front of me (litterally) all along. My first reaction to that would normally be to laugh out loud and say ,, Geez, am I blind or what?"... but I'd feel a tiny knot in my stomach. It wasn't until recently I realized that technically I am ,,blind". Last friday I got the results from a visual field test I took several weeks ago. I sat in a room in our ,,blind and visually impaired society house" and a woman walks in saying ... ,, Okay where should I start... Firstly, we see that you are categorized as legally blind". Well... yes, that was a big shock but it won't change anything about my sight. I've been like this all my life although I'm first hearing this word now. So, I'm not stopping. She also said that I almost have no lower visual field - Knew it deep inside me all along. Still, it made me uneasy to hear it. But that´s the life of someone with CVI - and i still can do all my things - hang out with friends and family and..... SING! Even tough I can't always spot a carton of milk wich is located right in front of my nose!

Over and out for now

Dagbjört <3







430 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My story & how I got diagnosed - positives and negatives

Hello folks! This post is going to be both easy and hard to write as I'll talk about my story- both the good, bad, and the ugly - not in the microdetails of course :) So, some of you might not know m

bottom of page